What other communities in Michigan have an income tax?

In addition to East Lansing, 23 other Michigan communities have an income tax. The communities with a standard 1% income tax for residents include: Albion, Battle Creek, Big Rapids, Flint, Grayling, Hamtramck, Hudson, Ionia, Jackson, Lansing, Lapeer, Muskegon, Muskegon Heights, Pontiac, Port Huron, Portland, Springfield, Walker and Benton Harbor. The communities that tax at a higher rate as permitted by statute include: Detroit, Grand Rapids, Highland Park and Saginaw. East Lansing's tax will never exceed 1%. 

Show All Answers

1. What is an income tax?
2. What other communities in Michigan have an income tax?
3. Will property taxes be reduced now that the income tax proposal has passed?
4. Will the City be able to raise property taxes again in the future?
5. Will my total taxes go up or down?
6. How much funding will be generated from the income tax?
7. When will the income tax and property tax reduction be implemented?
8. Could the income tax give City Council access to residents' tax returns/income information?
9. How will 425 Agreements be impacted by the income tax?