News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/1/2022 3:37:00 PM to 7/5/2022 9:55:57 AM.

News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: June 1, 2022

[ARCHIVED] City of East Lansing Announces 2022 Summer Community Events Lineup

Summer Concert Series

EAST LANSING, Mich. — The City of East Lansing is excited to announce it will be hosting a number of community events this summer, including the Summer Concert Series, Play in the Park children’s entertainment series and a new, outdoor film series in partnership with the Michigan State University (MSU) Museum and MSU Science Gallery.

Additional details about each event are provided below:
 
Summer Concert Series
The 2022 Summer Concert Series will feature six live performances by talented, local musical acts in the heart of downtown East Lansing.

This popular music series will take place July 8-Aug. 12 on Friday nights from 7-9 p.m. in downtown East Lansing’s Ann Street Plaza (corner of Albert and M.A.C. avenues). Community members are encouraged to bring lawn chairs and/or enjoy outdoor dining at a nearby restaurant or in the Albert EL Fresco pedestrian area. Here is the 2022 lineup:

  • Friday, July 8 – Keynote Sisters
  • Friday, July 15 – Ben Traverse
  • Friday, July 22 – Taylor Taylor
  • Friday, July 29 – Jordan Hamilton
  • Friday, Aug. 5 – Cross Eyed Strangers
  • Friday, Aug. 12 – On the Lash

“Field of View: An Art x Science Film Series”
In lieu of the Moonlight Film Festival this summer, the City has partnered with the MSU Museum and MSU Science Gallery to present “Field of View: An Art x Science Film Series.”

The film series will feature a collection of eight thought-provoking documentaries from Sandbox Films that explore humankind’s understanding of the world. The films will be shown June 2-July 21 on Thursday nights at dusk (approximately 9:20 p.m.) on a big, outdoor screen in Valley Court Park, 280 Valley Court. Community members are encouraged to bring blankets or lawn chairs and enjoy a night under the stars.

Here is the “Field of View: An Art x Science Film Series” schedule:

  • Thursday, June 2 – “Fireball”
  • Thursday, June 9 – “Oliver Sacks: His Own Life”
  • Thursday, June 16 – “All Light, Everywhere”
  • Thursday, June 23 – “Red Heaven”
  • Thursday, June 30 – “Human Nature”
  • Thursday, July 7 – “Black Holes: The Edge of All We Know”
  • Thursday, July 14 – “The Most Unknown”
  • Thursday, July 21 – “In Silico”   

Play in the Park
East Lansing’s popular Play in the Park children’s entertainment series will feature free family activities on Tuesdays at 7 p.m. in Valley Court Park, 280 Valley Court. Children and their families can bring a picnic, blanket and/or lawn chair and enjoy family friendly entertainment in a beautiful park setting.

Here is the 2022 Play in the Park schedule: 

Tuesday, July 12
Joel Tacey
 
Tuesday, July 26
Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum
 
Tuesday, Aug. 9
Kevin Devine
 
In the event of rain or severe weather, the events will be canceled.

Community members can visit www.cityofeastlansing.com/communityevents for additional information and updates on this summer’s community events.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

payment drop box

Winter Property Taxes Due on Feb. 14

Posted on: February 1, 2022

Update on ELPD Investigation

Posted on: January 21, 2022