News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/16/2020 2:07:10 PM to 1/16/2020 3:26:40 PM.

News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: January 16, 2020

[ARCHIVED] ELPD Holds Annual Awards Ceremony

EAST LANSING, Mich. — The East Lansing Police Department (ELPD) hosted its annual awards ceremony Wednesday, Jan. 15 to recognize the outstanding achievements of ELPD officers and civilians in 2019.

  • Sgt. Erich Vedder, Officer Andy Stephenson, Officer Matt Heffelfinger and a civilian received the Lifesaving Award for providing CPR to a victim who was suffering a cardiac arrest while his car was running and sitting at a stop sign. Thanks to their efforts, the victim is alive and well to this day.

  • Officer Austin Nelson and Officer Katelynn Bennett received the Lifesaving Award for assisting a woman who was in distress. Officers could hear a woman inside her apartment, but she was unable to let them in. Recognizing a medical emergency was in progress, the officers gained entry into the residence, provided aid and requested assistance from the East Lansing Fire Department.

  • Sgt. Erich Vedder, Sgt. Adam Park, Officer Staci Kole, Officer Justan Horst and Officer Jake Cortez received the Bravery Award for their response to a person who was in the process of repeatedly stabbing himself. Officers placed themselves in harms way to intervene and stop the victim, who was determined to hurt himself. The individual was eventually taken into custody and provided the medical treatment he needed.

  • Officer Katey Harrison, Officer Staci Kole, Officer Tyler Cassidy and Officer Kristy Schwalm received the Bravery Award for their work at a two-car accident. Officers pulled the driver of one of the vehicles out of the car, which was engulfed in flames. They also assisted the driver of the other vehicle, who was trapped inside.

  • Officer Ben Mommersteeg received the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) award for making 27 drunk driving arrests in 2019.

  • Retired Officer Jon Armstrong received the True Blue Award for his continued service and support to ELPD.

  • Jan Rohn from Police Administration received the 2019 Mason Samborksi Civilian of the Year Award for her dedicated service to ELPD and the

  • Officer Katelynn Bennett received the 2019 James Johnson Officer of the Year Award for her hard work and continued dedication to ELPD and the community.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases