Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is responsible for creating a master plan for the physical development of the city; preparing comprehensive programs for capital improvements; reviewing rezoning requests, site plans, subdivisions, special use permits and other land use applications; reviewing the widening and extension of streets, the development of parks and other public improvements; developing new zoning standards; and ensuring that the standards of appropriate environmental protection legislation are applied. The Commission consists of nine members who serve three-year terms and meet twice monthly. View Planning Commission By-Laws (PDF).


  • Meetings take place on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. (unless otherwise noted) at the East Lansing Hannah Community Center, 819 Abbot Road

The 2023 Meeting Schedule (PDF) can be viewed here.

The 2023 Submission Deadlines (PDF) can be viewed here

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Agendas, Minutes & Video Meeting Coverage

Meeting Coverage (Online and Television)

Gavel-to-gavel coverage of Planning Commission regular meetings are available online and on WELG (Ch. 22). The following options are available: 

  • Video recordings of Planning Commission regular meetings are available online @ The meetings are streamed live, archived online and available via an on-demand playback option. The meetings can be viewed by agenda item and are keyword searchable within 24 hours of the meeting. 
  • Televised recordings of Planning Commission regular meetings are shown live and replayed for Comcast customers on WELG (Ch. 22). In addition, a streamed feed of WELG (Ch. 22) is available online @ Ustream.


  • Joseph Sullivan, Chair
    Term expires: 2024
  • Daniel Bollman, Vice Chair
    Term expires: 2023
  • Lauren LaPine
    Term expires: 2023
  • Thomas Hendricks
    Term expires: 2023
  • Matt Boyd
    Term expires: 2024
  • Cynthia Williams
    Term expires: 2024
  • Chelsea Denault
    Term expires: 2025
  • Ed Wagner
    Term expires: 2025

City Staff

Citizen Feedback

All correspondence to the Planning Commission on proposed projects and other matters should be sent to Landon Bartley for distribution. Phone: (517) 319-6930.

Apply for a Vacancy

Submit a Board / Commission Application to apply for an appointment to the Planning Commission.