Community Development Advisory Committee

The Community Development Advisory Committee is responsible for making recommendations to East Lansing City Council on annual funding priorities for Community Development Block Grant dollars allocated by the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

This committee is made up of representatives from the following commissions: Housing Commission (1), Human Rights Commission (2), Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee (1), Seniors Commission (1), Transportation Commission (1) and the University Student Commission (1). 

Members primarily meet December through March and work with City staff to review applications, conduct public hearings and make recommendations to East Lansing City Council regarding the Community Development Block Grant program.

This year, eight applicants submitted eligible activities for Community Development Block Grant funding. These applications are available for public viewing below:

View the CD Advisory Committee's CDBG FY23 Budget Recommendation (PDF). If you have questions regarding the CD Advisory Committee’s CDBG budget recommendation for FY23, please email Matt Apostle at


  • Meetings take place at the East Lansing Hannah Community Center, 819 Abbot Road. 


City Staff